Zoram Peoples Movement announces names of its 35 candidates for Nov 28 Mizoram polls

Zoram Peoples Movement announces names of its 35 candidates for Nov 28 Mizoram polls

The third front in Mizoram, the Zoram Peoples Movement today announced the names of its 35 candidates who will contest in the upcoming Mizoram State Assembly elections.

The candidates’ list was unveiled today at a function held at Aijal Club in Aizawl, Val Upa Council chairman Lalfakzuala said that the conglomerate of six lesser known parties of Mizoram – the ZPM preferred a low profile function unlike the Congress and the MNF, who unveiled their candidate with huge fanfare.

The announcement of the candidates was made by the leaders of the Val Upa Council, or an elders’ wing, a group of renowned citizens and retired politicians overseeing the functionaries of the conglomerate.

Like the Congress the ZPM too withheld from naming its two candidate from Chakma Autonomous District Council (CADC) and three seats from Lai and Mara auntonomous district councils. Earlier, Young Mizo Association, the biggest NGO in the state, demanded political parties to not name Chakma tribes as official candidates in the CADC areas.

Addressing the function, Lalfakzuala, chairman of the Val Upa Council, said, “Today’s announcement of the candidates is one thing, we give more impetus to the solemnity of the function, each and every candidates we named today will pledge their promise to abide by the rules which the council has made for the well being of Mizoram, for us this is more important than the announcement of the candidates’ names.”

Mizoram, which goes to polls on November 28, is the only northeastern state in which the Congress is in power. The assembly results will be announced on December 11.

The chief ministerial candidate of the conglomerate Lalduhoma was given two seats – Serchhip AC where he is tipped to cross paths with the present chief minister Lal Thanhawla of the INC, and Aizawl West I AC, his home constituency.

The party spokesperson and the owner of Vanglaini Daily, the state’s number one newspaper K Sapdanga was given Aizawl East I, he will be up against the MNF president and chief ministerial candidate Zoramthanga.

Former vice chairman of the northeast students forum – NESO, Lalmuanpuia Punte was named the party’s official candidate of Serlui AC, former MLA Vanlalhlana was given Aizawl North I AC.

Lalhmangaiha Sailo, a retired IRS officer and the son of former chief minister Brig. T Sailo was handed his father’s home turf of Aizawl West II, he will have fight a tough battle with the incumbent MNF MLA Lalruatkima and Congress youth president Dr. Lalmalsawma.

Former Mizo People’s Conference legislator Lalthansanga will try to win back his former constituency of Hrangturzo, he will be up against the only female minister of Lal Thanhawla’s cabinet Vanlalawmpuii Chawngthu.

Share post:
Notify of