Congress MLA Hmingdailova Khiangte tenders resignation

Congress MLA Hmingdailova Khiangte tenders resignation


Tuirial constituency legislator Hmingdailova Khiangte has became the latest casualty of Lal Thanhawla’s 34 strong assembly, Khiangte became the fourth MLA to resign from the present Mizoram legislative assembly.

Home minister R Lalzirliana, ex health minister Lalrinliana Sailo and BD Chakma had tendered their resignation earlier.

A retired IPS officer howe joined the Congress party, Hmingdailova has been elected for the second term in 2013, but was not included in the Congress list of candidates. In his stead Joseph L Ralte, who he had beaten in the 2013 election was given the INC ticket.

Hmingdailova Khiangte was the Chairman of Mizoram Youth Commission in his first term and was later appointed the parliamentary secretary in his second tenure.

During this present assembly term, five MLAs have tendered resignation so far, in 2015, Lal Thanzara, the younger brother of chief minister Lal Thanhawla resigned but only to be elected again in the following by-polls.

Former health minister and home minister last week submitted their resignation and had joined the opposition MNF party. BD Chakma resigned and had recently joined the BJP.

Khiangte said that he would call up a press conference soon and announce the reason for quiting his MLA seat. Sources from the National People’s Party said Khiangte would join them and contest from Tuirial seat on their party ticket.

Share post:
Notify of